top of page

Boca Raton Florida Police Department does not protect victims

My name is Eliezer Pozner, and I am the parent of a child who was murdered at the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting on December 14th, 2012 in Newtown, Connecticut. After the horrific death of my 6-year-old son Noah, my family relocated to Boca Raton, FL, hoping to find a calm environment in which to heal. Since then, I have been harassed repeatedly and relentlessly; online, over the phone, and even in person. The harassment comes at the hands of all manner of unhinged conspiracy theorists, known as “Hoaxers,” who believe the shooting was a government-staged hoax in the interest of gun control, as well as sociopath internet trolls who achieve some warped sense of self-gratification by victimizing the bereft. But one of the worst and most surprising incidents, which subsequently triggered my diagnosed post-traumatic stress disorder, was recently orchestrated by a member of the Boca Raton Police Department. I have filed multiple reports of harassment, none of which have ever been followed up on. There was, however, a Hoaxer (who I do not know) who filed fraudulent police reports and CPS reports against me. My immediate response to these unfounded reports was to blog one sentence in my defense which was echoed across the internet. Shockingly, this resulted in disturbing phone calls from Detective John Turek of Boca PD in which he threatened to arrest me if my factual, First Amendment protected post remained online. Specifically, while demanding that I take down an internet post I had made defending myself, Detective Turek yelled (yes, yelled), “DON’T MAKE ME GO OVER THERE AND ARREST YOU PERSONALLY!” As well, he suggested that a more appropriate response on my part to my tormentor should be one of apathy, stating, “How about sticks and stones…” Sticks and stones? I find Detective Turek’s lack of empathy for my position and his menacing methods reprehensible. (Did he advise the same to Shirley Pantaleon-Nunez ?) Adding insult to injury, the offending parties whom I was defending myself against have not experienced similar threats to their free speech, as their slanderous, defamatory posts remain intact. The post which Detective Turek demanded I take down by a threat of arrest consisted of one sentence, including case number, name, and the explanation that the complaint was unsubstantiated. I feel that it was my right to defend myself from the slander and defamation that resulted from the utterly false claim and that the threat levied against me by Detective Turek was a possible violation of my First Amendment rights. Read the full story here: http://www.honr.com/boca-raton-florida-police-department/

RECENT POST
bottom of page